Hypothetical Astrology in other star systems

This area of the forum is for Western and Vedic astrology discussions. Please post personal issues in the appropriate forum area.

Moderator: Noel Eastwood

Eric Garth

Hypothetical Astrology in other star systems

Post by Eric Garth »

Hello. I am a not-yet-published science fiction author who is working on a series of stories set in a future in which faster-than-light interstellar travel is cheap and easy, and habitable planets are common.

Since lots of people believe in, or rely on, astrology, I see no reason to assume that would not continue to be the case when humanity is traveling among the stars. However. Every star system has a different assortment of planets in a variety of different orbits, with the orbital plane of the system oriented to different constellations than those used in astrology in our star system. So, how would an astrologer* go about figuring out what the astrological signs are for a planet or planets** in a different star system, and figuring out what characteristics those signs are associated with? How would traveling from ‘one set of astrological influences’ to ‘another set of astrological influences’ (i.e. one star system to another) be handled***?

Any clues that you can offer that would enable me to write about an interstellar traveler (tourist, business person, etc.) who values astrology, in a way that a current-day believer in astrology would find plausible and respectful, would be much appreciated. The character would have grown up on a colony world in a different star system, now lives in another star system, is visiting a third star system, and planning to go to a fourth star system. Thank you.

* I assume that different astrologers would take different approaches, and that there would probably not be a consensus on how one does ‘interstellar astrology’, but I don’t know enough to even guess what any of those approaches would be.