Geocentric View

This area of the forum is for Western and Vedic astrology discussions. Please post personal issues in the appropriate forum area.

Moderator: Noel Eastwood

DoctorT

Geocentric View

Post by DoctorT »

Hi!

I am a newbie! In the geocentric (i.e., Earth-centered) view of the Universe, at a given day and time (say January 1 Midnight) and a given place (say a rural location in Upstate New York), if one is looking up at the night sky, does one sees only ONE of the twelve constellations of the Zodiac? And, would one see the same constellation the following year?

Thank you!

Dr. T
Dr. Anthony (Doctor T) Rodriguez
www.TheNthDim.com
admin
Site Admin

Re: Geocentric View

Post by admin »

Hi Dr. T,

I suggest you download the Stellarium program: https://stellarium.org/ (It’s free !)
There you can insert your coordinates and view the sky any time of the year to see which constellations are visible in any direction from that position. In this way you’ll know where to look and what you’re looking at.

I’ll add that it’s important to remember that these will be the ‘real’ Fixed Zodiacal constellations (used in Vedic Astrology) whereas the Western Zodiac varies slightly (by about 25 degrees of arc).
This site might help you to understand this anomaly: https://www.indastro.com/astrology-arti ... -astrology

In answer to your questions: You would see more than one of the constellations at any time; and yes, you would see the same constellation the following year if you view the sky at the same time/date each year.

Enjoy !

Best,
Admin.
"Don't let the illusions of your past or future rob you of the infiniteness of your present." [Unknown]
DoctorT

Post by DoctorT »

admin wrote: Sat Oct 12, 2019 9:16 am ... In answer to your questions: You would see more than one of the constellations at any time; and yes, you would see the same constellation the following year if you view the sky at the same time/date each year ...
Dear Admin,

Thank you for your reply!